|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
In today's 5x5 sessions, I frequently got a pop-up dialog box with the following:
MS Dialog box heading: File download - Security warning Description: Name: default_131461-2.js Type: JScript Script File, 337 bytes From: cdn.fastclick.net I'm using Windows XP Professional with IE 7. I am going to guess this is an over-zealous advertiser... That said, it is so intrusive, and I do not want to take the risk of accidentally clicking on it (especially unwise on my work computer!), so I'm going to have to take a break from playing. Whether this is malware, a virus, an annoying advertisement, or whatever, it is not acceptable. Yes, I know it might be a good opportunity to go for a premium membership, but I prefer to consider that option without coercion! I'll check back in a couple of days to see if there's any improvement. I'll also check to see if there's any response to this posting that could help to alleviate my concerns. If not, unfortunately, I'll have to stay off the site. In case it is an advertiser with a monthly contract, I will try to check back toward the beginning of each month to see if it continues to happen or not. In the meantime, I'll try to find something "out there" to scratch my Boggle/WordTwist itch... So far, nothing else has been as good as this site, but I'll be looking. Heaven forbid I have to settle on solitaire! |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Hi Mamalu -
Thank you for reporting this - the info you provided above is extremelyhelpful in tracking down this sort of thing, so thank you very much! I'll be working this evening to single out the source of the problem and will update you with my findings. Cheers - Stephen
__________________
http://www.puzzlebaron.com/blog |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
I couldn't stay away... 8-) Thanks so much for the quick response! I'll check back again tomorrow!
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Just as an update - it turns out the file default_131461-2.js is actually completely 100% safe. That's a file we ourselves have uploaded to our ad network as a default ad position, and we've tripled checked - there's nothing wrong with the file, no virus, no malware, etc.. The problem we can't seem to figure out just yet is why your browser reported it as suspicious.
If you could possibly let us know (either here or via email or private message) what security or anti-virus software you're using, that may help us track down the reason behind the security warning. Cheers!
__________________
http://www.puzzlebaron.com/blog |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Thank you so much for checking that out. I sure did not intend to report a red herring!
It has not appeared since our first discussion after I reported it, but I will not worry next time if it should reappear. The anti-virus on the computer I've been using is McAfee OAS which, I believe, stands for On-Access Scan. It's on our network, and so I do not have much input on that side of the computer. That said, I have McAfee on my home computer, and I've never seen this popup there; I do not play as much on that computer, though, so it is not much of a comparison. I hope this helps. And thanks again. |
Boggle is a registered trademark of Hasbro Inc. Any and all uses of the word "Boggle" on these pages refers
to this trademark. This web page is in no way an attempt to confuse the visitor that it is affiliated with
Hasbro. If you are looking for the official Hasbro site, please go to www.hasbro.com.